Bringing together the next generation of theatermakers to create new work and form career-long artistic relationships.

The Program

The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals provide a free, rigorous professional intensive for early-career theatermakers.
Participants engage in intensive workshops, panel discussions with industry game-changers and finally their own productions of The 24 Hour Plays in an off-Broadway theater.
This year’s Nationals take place in New York City from July 18-25.
Participants must be available on the following dates:
July 18th (evening) and July 19th - The 24 Hour Plays: Viral Monologues
July 20th, 21st, 23rd, and 24th: Workshops and Panels
July 24th (evening) and July 25th: The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals
Offered at no cost to participants.

Travel and participation stipends are available for all artist participants. To become a Nationals supporter, donate here.


Open to early-career theatermakers to participate in person in NYC.

Artist participants must be either within seven years of their final year of high school or within four years of their final year of undergraduate study.

Apply by discipline in acting, composing, directing, playwriting and producing.

Applicants may apply for multiple disciplines but may NOT be accepted in multiple tracks nor participate in the program more than once. Previous applicants are welcome to apply again as long as they meet the “early-career” artist description.

Application deadline: April 25, 2022, at 11:59 PM ET.

The Intensive

Previous Nationals have featured panel discussions, breakout conversations and workshops with Annie Baker, Jocelyn Bioh, Renee Blinkwolt, Claire Danes, Kristoffer Diaz, Maria Dizzia, Timothy Douglas, Rachel Dratch, Joel Marsh Garland, Lucas Hnath, Julia Jordan, Hansol Jung, Thomas Kail, Karen Kohlhaas, Warren Leight, David Lindsay-Abaire, Aasif Mandvi, Lou Moreno, Bruce Norris, Denis O’Hare, Austin Pendleton, Hubert Point-Du Jour, Max Posner, Adam Rapp, Theresa Rebeck, Elizabeth Rodriguez, Christopher Shinn, Leigh Silverman, Lucy Thurber, Liesl Tommy and many other stage and screen professionals.


Alum of The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals are everywhere in the entertainment industry. They work on and off Broadway, in TV and film and in the leadership of theaters here and abroad. Past participants include playwrights Bekah Brunstetter, Gracie Gardner, Ken Greller, Dave Harris, Gethsemane Herron, Laura Jacqmin, Josh Koenigsberg Mike Lew, Mara Nelson-Greenberg, Liliana Padilla, Eliana Pipes, Andrew Rincón, Harrison David Rivers, Korde Arrington Tuttle and Celine Song; actors Pico Alexander, Satya Babha, Alice Kremelberg, Elizabeth Lail, Naomi Lorrain, Tedra Millan, Bobby Moreno, Ebonee Noel, Coral Peña, Zoe Perry, Will Rogers, Brandon Scott, Chris Smith, Chelsea Spack, Haskiri Velazquez and Natalie Walker; producers Shariffa Ali, Kelcie Beene, Hope Chavez and Carly Hugo; and directors Lyndsay Burch, James Dacre, Taylor Reynolds, Colette Robert, Laura Savia and James Dacre.

The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Early career artist development made possible with your support.