Building up the next generation of theatermakers to create new work and form career-long artistic relationships.

The Program

The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals are a free, rigorous professional intensive for theatermakers ages 18-25.
This year’s Nationals will take place virtually from July 19th, 2021 through July 27th, 2021.

Participants must be available on the following dates 9 AM – 5 PM ET to apply: July 19th (evening only), 20th-22nd, 24th-25th, 26th (evening only) and 27th (all day).

Participants engage in a variety of intensive workshops, panel discussions, and their own virtual productions of The 24 Hour Plays and The 24 Hour Plays: Viral Monologues.
Offered at no cost to participants. To become a Nationals supporter, donate here.


Open to theatermakers everywhere ages 18-25 to participate virtually.
Apply by discipline in acting, composing, directing, playwriting and producing.

Applicants may apply for multiple disciplines but may NOT be accepted in multiple tracks nor participate in the program more than once. Previous applicants are welcome to apply again as long as they are within the required age range.

Application deadline: April 11, 2021, at 11:59 PM ET.

The Intensive

Previous Nationals have featured panel discussions, breakout conversations and workshops with Annie Baker, Jocelyn Bioh, Renee Blinkwolt, Claire Danes, Kristoffer Diaz, Maria Dizzia, Timothy Douglas, Rachel Dratch, Joel Marsh Garland, Lucas Hnath, Julia Jordan, Hansol Jung, Thomas Kail, Karen Kohlhaas, Warren Leight, David Lindsay-Abaire, Aasif Mandvi, Lou Moreno, Bruce Norris, Denis O’Hare, Austin Pendleton, Hubert Point-Du Jour, Max Posner, Adam Rapp, Theresa Rebeck, Elizabeth Rodriguez, Christopher Shinn, Leigh Silverman, Lucy Thurber, Liesl Tommy and many other stage and screen professionals.


Alum of The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals are everywhere in the entertainment industry. They work on and off Broadway, in TV and film and in the leadership of theaters here and abroad. Past participants include playwrights Bekah Brunstetter, Gracie Gardner, Ken Greller, Dave Harris, Gethsemane Herron, Laura Jacqmin, Josh Koenigsberg Mike Lew, Mara Nelson-Greenberg, Liliana Padilla, Eliana Pipes, Andrew Rincón, Harrison David Rivers, Korde Arrington Tuttle and Celine Song; actors Pico Alexander, Satya Babha, Alice Kremelberg, Elizabeth Lail, Naomi Lorrain, Tedra Millan, Bobby Moreno, Ebonee Noel, Coral Peña, Zoe Perry, Will Rogers, Brandon Scott, Chris Smith, Chelsea Spack, Haskiri Velazquez and Natalie Walker; producers Shariffa Ali, Kelcie Beene, Hope Chavez and Carly Hugo; and directors Lyndsay Burch, James Dacre, Taylor Reynolds, Colette Robert, Laura Savia and James Dacre.

The 24 Hour Plays: Nationals are produced in partnership with the New School for Drama.


Past Productions

Young artist development made possible with your support.